Clergy & Staff

Alistair-McHaffie-Vicar

Alistair McHaffie – Vicar

I have been married to Pippa, a speech and language therapist, since 1987 and we have 3 grown-up children in their twenties. I love to haunt the local auctions when I can, and do a little buying and selling on eBay. I should do more exercise, but at least I do walk our dog most days! The advantage of having a large vicarage garden is that I can aspire to the “Good Life” and keep a few chickens in the back garden.

Tom & Barbara Wilson

Barbara Wilson – Associate Minister

My husband Tom and I are thoroughly enjoying retirement from full time employment. This gives us more time to get stuck in to things at St John’s, where we have been members for over 40 years. When not heading up Messy Church and preparing for other church responsibilities I enjoy going to the gym, singing and spending time with our four grandchildren.

Sue Champness

Sue Champness – Reader

I moved to Lancashire in 1991 to begin a job teaching Science at St Wilfrid’s High School in Blackburn, and married Dave the following summer. We moved to Leyland in 1997 and were welcomed into the family at St John’s. Since exchanging full-time teaching for being Mum to our two children (now both teenagers) I have taken on an increasing range of voluntary jobs, mostly for the church both here at St John’s and across Lancashire and Cumbria. I love meeting and working with people of all different ages and backgrounds and hearing their stories. To relax I like to get lost in a good book or film, or to go for a long walk in the countryside – where I hope not to get lost!

David Spencer

David Spencer – Reader

Barbara Lang

Barbara Lang – Children and Families Worker

I have three children all in their mid twenties, two dogs and three cats. We are currently excited and planning my middle daughter’s wedding and as a family you will often find us helping my youngest daughter in her flower shop. I love my job and enjoy talking to people and working with our families at St Johns.  As an ex geography /geology researcher I am fascinated by the landscape and climate change and so I enjoy walking, particularly walking with my family and dogs in the beautiful British countryside.